Research & Databases
As a patron of Adams Memorial Library and Caldwell Memorial Library, you have access to databases through PA POWER Library and more! For many of the resources below, you will need to have a library card either from your local library OR a POWER Library card!
Dead-a-Base
The Dead-a-Base is a database index of the obituary and death notice listings as they appeared in the Latrobe Bulletin from their first issue December 18, 1902 to the present. The index contains names, dates of death, and dates on which the obituary appeared. This index does not contain the text of the information contained within an obituary. For more information on this database, click here.
PA Driver’s Manual
Looking for a copy of the PA Driver’s Manual? The state no longer prints paper copies due to environmental regulations. You can access an online test prep found here. If you prefer to view the manual, you can find it here. If you wish to print a copy of the PDF at the library, please note that the PDF is currently 104 pages long and we charge $0.25 per page. The cost to print a complete copy will be $26.00, however you are welcome to just print the desired sections.
Tax Forms & Rent Rebate
Looking for tax forms or rent rebate forms? The US government and the state of PA no longer provide printed forms for tax purposes due to environmental regulations. You may find the tax forms and booklets here and rebate forms here. For tax prep help, please visit the Berkheimer Tax Innovations site. You are welcome to print your forms at the library.
Magazines & Newspapers
Use the Power Search to search many of the Gale e-resources available in POWER Library in one place! Find articles and information from Academic OneFile, General OneFile, News. You will need a library card to access these databases.
Genealogy
Use MyHeritage Library Edition is a multilingual family history research database that database includes billions of historical documents from 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes, and additional resources that span the past five centuries. You will need a library card to access this database.
Use Ancestry.com PA to search for FREE if you’re a Pennsylvania resident! You will need to sign up for a free account to access the information available on your Pennsylvania ancestors and family.
Repair Manuals
With the Auto Repair Source, you can discover the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls. You will need a library card to access these databases.
Small Engine Repair gives you access to detailed repair guides for all types of small engines. Offers assistance in providing routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service) as well as extensive repairs such as engine and transmission disassembly. Search by product type, brand, model/engine type, specific area of model/engine type and model numbers. You will need a library card to access these databases.
Jobs & Business
PA Job Resources is for Pennsylvania job seekers and employers. These Pennsylvania government provided resources are designed to help you find a good career, review job openings, and match you with employers.
Business Insights: Essentials provides full-text articles and statistical data about companies and industries for business owners, marketing professionals, investors, and students. Access to over 11,000 journals and more than 8,900 in full-text. Find thousands of detailed financial reports, more than 2,500 custom business glossary terms, 1,000 SWOT reports, over 17,400 company histories, and over 460,000 detailed company profiles! You will need a library card to access these databases.
Books & Movies
The Access PA Catalog gives you access to the holdings of over 1,500 Pennsylvania libraries and their combined collections of over 41 million books, audio materials, reference materials, movies, and much more. You will need a library card to access these databases.
With BookFlix, you can watch videos and read books about Animals and Nature, Earth and Sky, People and Places, ABC’s and 1, 2, 3’s, Family and Community, Music and Rhyme, Adventure, and more. Enjoy read aloud with words highlighting and interactive games. Some films and books are available in Spanish too! You will need a library card to access these databases.
Gale eBooks lets explore encyclopedias and specialized reference sources on a variety of topics from history, government, environment, math, and more! You will need a library card to access these databases.
EBSCO eBooks offers a selection from over 16,000 eBooks from the world’s leading publishers across all major subject areas. Perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online. You will need a library card to access these databases.
NoveList provides you the tools to find your next favorite book! You can use this source to find book recommendations and get readers advisory from across the globe! Each title selected will cross-reference with the WLN catalog so you can reserve a copy! You will need a library card to access these databases.
NoveList K-8 provides you the tools to help your child find their next favorite book! You can use this source to find book recommendations and get readers advisory for children, Kindergarten through 8th grade! Each title selected will cross-reference with the WLN catalog so you can reserve a copy! You will need a library card to access these databases.
Grants & Nonprofit Resources
GuideStar provides resource access for over 2 million nonprofit organizations. You can use this source to find local nonprofits where you can donate, work, or volunteer. You must to be in the building or using our wi-fi to access this database.
The Foundation Directory provides funding resources for nonprofits. With a prospect list of over 242,000 grantmakers, you can use this source to contact various organizations, as well as find collaboration opportunities to help your nonprofit grow! You must to be in the building or using our wi-fi to access this database.
The Foundation Directory gives you access to a comprehensive listing of scholarships, fellowships, and student aid to help with your future prospects. You must to be in the building or using our wi-fi to access this database.